42 – CREATIVE DEBT – A Fresh Way to See It

Scan this whole post quickly, then come back and answer this question:

What do you owe to the world and why?

If talent is a gift and has been given to us for free, then is there an argument that we owe it to others?

This is a matter of opinion and personal choice, but, once asked, this question can yield some interesting answers.

I was pressed to answer it for myself when I was on holiday with friends some years ago. We sat around a large wooden table strumming guitars and singing. I performed a song I’d thrown together, at the end of which my friend R. looked at me – serious, frowning slightly, demanding; even a little stern. He said, ‘You know something, a voice like yours is a gift and you should not keep it to yourself. You owe it to the world to sing.’

It was, of course, the sweetest compliment, especially because in my view ‘the world’ couldn’t care less about me or my songs. But the more I thought about it, the more I realised that perhaps I did owe something: to my parents who had certainly encouraged me to play instruments; to friends, who obviously liked my songs; and to anyone who might enjoy or be inspired by them.

I also owed it to myself, because if you are creative, it’s pointless suppressing, ignoring or neglecting it. It will leak out anyway, possibly in more chaotic ways – because it’s a little like suppressing your need to breathe. Hold it back, and it will come out in a spluttered gasp.

So the next time I was at a big party I went up to the hostess and said, ‘I’m a singer/songwriter. Introduce me to anyone who plays music.’

She did. Before I knew it a band had formed around me and some of the best, most exhilarating years of my life followed – until it was time to let go of the band and engage with something even more exciting (for me at least): children.

So! If you keep a journal (recommended) go back to the top of this post and answer the question.